Regional Tournament

 

On January 30th, my archery team hosted our regional tournament. This was kind of a big deal, because our school had never hosted a tournament before. I say “our school,” but that’s not technically correct. I’m homeschooled, but a nearby Christian school allows homeschoolers to shoot on their archery team. Our flight time was at 10 am, but I came early to help register, direct people, etc. (I didn’t end up doing much to help.)

I had high hopes for this tournament, but when the time came to shoot, my hopes were, let’s just say, shot. At our district tournament in November (one week after we got back from Croatia), I shot 262, one point higher than my all-time high at World the previous year. A few weeks before this tournament, we scored at practice and I shot 258. That made me worry a little bit, but I was still hopeful. The day before the tournament, I shot a 0 and a 2 at 15 meters. My friend said it was the dress rehearsal before the performance.

As always, I shot very well in the practice round, but the first scoring round was a different matter. I shot badly. Not horribly, but worse than I’ve shot in a long, long time.

After we shot, my friends and I went into the cafeteria to hang out and stress over what our scores might have been. I ate pretzels and watched one of my friends draw on other people’s arms with silver Sharpie.

In between flights, we helped change target faces and just basically goofed off. I was able to work on my Robin Hood story a little bit, and I watched people play chess. Then it came time for the award ceremony! *cue dramatic music – the Empire Strikes Back, perhaps?* I ended up shooting 229, which was about what I shot last year at Regionals with a messed up bow. Our middle school team took first place, and our high school team took first, too! We shot 3276, which would put us at first in the state until the next week when the last set of tournaments were completed.

We took pictures, then headed back to the cafeteria for our stuff. When I looked at my phone, I had a text from my dad saying, “When you’re done, come see the new puppy.” Puppy?!!

To be continued…

 

Published by

Bailey

Hey! I'm a 17 year-old homeschooler who loves literature and music. I enjoy writing historical fiction and fantasy. I consider myself a music snob and grammar Nazi. :) When I'm working, I normally listen to the LOTR or Hobbit soundtracks. I love to dress up in medieval clothes and speak with a European accent. Hope you enjoy this blog!

One thought on “Regional Tournament”

Leave a Reply

