Croatia – Day 2

Saturday, October 31

Basically, this whole day was spent traveling. We flew from Atlanta to London, arriving in Heath Row airport very early in the morning (for us). London was only five hours ahead of us because they set their clocks back a week earlier than we do. That meant we got an extra hour of sleep on Saturday night, then we were six hours ahead! London security was a little scarier than Atlanta security, if you can believe that. My sister forgot to take a water bottle that we’d been given on the plane out of her backpack, and I forgot to take a projector out of my carry-on. We were all thankful to be done with that!

Our plane from London to Croatia was small, but we got food! Olives and cheese in olive oil, along with some kind of spicy-ish cracker rings.

IMG_2708

I fell asleep during the flight, which was a relief, because my stomach was feeling rather precarious. When we got to the airport in Zagreb, it was raining and cold. We were met by a couple in the church and our host missionary. We carried our luggage to the cars, and gaped at the scenery.

DSCN3101 DSCN3103

I think those are birch, ash, or aspen, but I’m not sure which. We drove for around 45 minutes to get to Krapina. Here are my thoughts as I sat in the backseat: “Man, this is a gorgeous country! We’re driving pretty fast…” *Looks at the spedometer.* “120?! We’re going to die! Wait, Europe uses the metric system! 120 kilometers per hour, not miles per hour! Whew!” Yeah, that’s my brain. I took some cool pics!

DSCN3126 DSCN3129

 

We had to stay up ’till at least 8 Croatia time, which was hard, but we had coffee! We practiced All I Have is Christ for our host and the Croatian couple. They were impressed that we could pronounce the words correctly (apparently.) We took two of our team to the pastor’s house, and two to the local hostel, Barrock.

20151101_072434

After that, we were able to go home, take an Advil PM, and go to sleep. I slept like a log, as the saying goes.

Published by

Bailey

Hey! I'm a 17 year-old homeschooler who loves literature and music. I enjoy writing historical fiction and fantasy. I consider myself a music snob and grammar Nazi. :) When I'm working, I normally listen to the LOTR or Hobbit soundtracks. I love to dress up in medieval clothes and speak with a European accent. Hope you enjoy this blog!

One thought on “Croatia – Day 2”

Leave a Reply

